Skip to content

Whale and dolphin species guide

There are around 90 species of whales, dolphins and porpoises, known collectively as "cetaceans". From the enormous blue whale to the tiny vaquita and Hector's dolphin, you will find information and amazing facts about many of these incredible creatures in our species guide.

Whale and dolphin species

All whales and dolphins can be divided into two categories: baleen whales and toothed whales. Toothed whales include the sperm whale, beaked whales, dolphins, porpoises and the beluga whale and narwhal.

  • All
  • Baleen whales
  • Beaked whales
  • Beluga whale and narwhal
  • Dolphins
  • Porpoises
  • River dolphins
  • Sperm whales

Andrews’ beaked whale

Antarctic minke whale

Antarctic minke whale

Arnoux's beaked whale

Arnoux’s beaked whale

Atlantic humpback dolphin

Atlantic humpback dolphin

Young spotted dolphin

Atlantic spotted dolphin

Atlantic white-sided dolphin

Atlantic white-sided dolphin

Australian humpback dolphin

Australian snubfin dolphin

Australian snubfin dolphin

Baiji (Yangtze River dolphin)


Baird's beaked whale

Baird’s beaked whale

Beluga whale

Beluga whale

Blainville's beaked whale

Blainville’s beaked whale

Blue whale © Andrew Sutton

Blue whale

bowhead whale

Bowhead whale

Bryde's whale

Bryde’s whale


Burmeister’s porpoise

Chilean dolphin

Chilean dolphin

Clymene dolphin

Commerson's dolphin

Commerson’s dolphin

Bottlenose dolphin at surface

Common bottlenose dolphin

Help us keep all whales and dolphins safe and free

By adopting a dolphin or by making a donation, you can help us protect these amazing creatures.

Indo-Pacific bottlenose dolphin © Mike Bossley/WDC


Adopt a dolphin and follow the lives of these amazing creatures.

Humpback whale


Your gifts help us take action to protect their homes.