Skip to content

Whale and dolphin species guide

There are around 90 species of whales, dolphins and porpoises, known collectively as "cetaceans". From the enormous blue whale to the tiny vaquita and Hector's dolphin, you will find information and amazing facts about many of these incredible creatures in our species guide.

Whale and dolphin species

All whales and dolphins can be divided into two categories: baleen whales and toothed whales. Toothed whales include the sperm whale, beaked whales, dolphins, porpoises and the beluga whale and narwhal.

  • All
  • Baleen whales
  • Beaked whales
  • Beluga whale and narwhal
  • Dolphins
  • Porpoises
  • River dolphins
  • Sperm whales
Common minke whale

Common minke whale

Cuvier's beaked whale © BMMRO

Cuvier’s beaked whale


Dall’s porpoise

Deraniyagala’s Beaked Whale

Dusky dolphin

Dusky dolphin

Dwarf sperm whale

Dwarf sperm whale

False killer whale

False killer whale

Fin whale at surface

Fin whale

Franciscana dolphin


Fraser's dolphin

Fraser’s dolphin

Gervais' beaked whale

Gervais’ beaked whale

Ginkgo-toothed beaked whale

Gray whale

Gray whale

Gray's beaked whale

Gray’s beaked whale

Guiana dolphin

Guiana dolphin

Harbour porpoise

Harbour porpoise

Heaviside's dolphin

Heaviside’s dolphin

Hector’s beaked whale

New Zealand dolphin

Hector’s dolphin

Hourglass dolphin

Hourglass dolphin

Help us keep all whales and dolphins safe and free

By adopting a dolphin or by making a donation, you can help us protect these amazing creatures.

Indo-Pacific bottlenose dolphin © Mike Bossley/WDC


Adopt a dolphin and follow the lives of these amazing creatures.

Humpback whale


Your gifts help us take action to protect their homes.